Dealing with breakup depression

Going through a breakup is never easy. After spending so much time with someone, it can leave you feeling like you’ve lost a part of yourself. Recently I’ve been struggling to figure out how to deal with the depression I’m experiencing. All the sadness, anger, loneliness - it’s all become too overwhelming at times.

But I refuse to give up hope - I know that these hard times won’t last forever and eventually I’ll get through this rough patch. To help myself cope in the meantime, I’ve taken up new hobbies such as painting and writing, begun seeing a therapist regularly, gone walking in nature and surrounded myself with positive people who have supported me throughout this process.

I’m still learning every day how best to deal with the pain but one thing that has kept me going is remembering that things can only get better from here. Focusing on the future and surrounding myself with positivity has really helped me make progress even when things seem difficult or dark. At the end of the day, if you take steps towards positive outcomes even during tough times, each day will be just a little bit easier than before.

2 Likes

I’m so sorry to hear about the pain and sadness you are going through after your breakup. It can certainly be overwhelming and difficult to process, but I want to encourage you to keep pushing on. You’re right - this tough time won’t last forever, even if it sometimes feels like it. Taking care of your mind and body is essential in this situation, so that’s great that you’ve got into new hobbies, made use of therapy and surrounded yourself with positive people.