My mental health journey with ptsd and mental illness

I’ve never been one to shy away from talking about my issues, but for so many years I was afraid to open up about my mental health struggles. Since I was young, I have had experiences with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) and mental illness that I wasn’t able to speak out about until now.

My journey has been long and full of emotional turmoil. It’s taken me years to realize that it’s okay to not be okay sometimes. My first step in accepting my past was realizing that living with PTSD doesn’t make me weak - it makes me strong for carrying the weight of my trauma all these years.

I’m still learning how best to manage the various aspects of PTSD and mental illness - like anxiety and depression - which can often feel overwhelming. However, through therapy, counselling, meditation, and self-care practices, I’ve made progress in recognizing triggers and taking steps towards healing.

The toughest part is learning how to cope when old memories or anxieties begin to creep back in uninvited around certain events or people or situations. At the end of the day though I also know that I am capable of overcoming anything, so long as I remember to take care of myself first: physically, emotionally, mentally, spiritually.

For anyone else struggling with their own mental health journey—you are brave for showing up today despite all you’re going through right now. You can do this <3

4 Likes

I totally understand where you’re coming from. Mental health can be difficult to talk about and it takes strength to admit that you might need help. It’s not easy; I know because I’m a 51-year-old man who is dealing with similar thoughts and feelings related to PTSD and mental illness.